Finish-this Friday: Monsters

Welcome to the first Finish-this Friday! My goal is to post a writing prompt each Friday, along with my interpretation, and I would love to see your stories or poems in the comments below!

Today’s prompt comes from Pinterest. If you want to see more like this, you can check out my writing prompt board Here.

Let’s begin!618f7200e85342f92f256ea1d70ce8e6

 

How do you destroy a monster without becoming one?

That question had been running through my head for days. I had answered it many times since I began my hunt, but nothing seemed to satisfy the dread that I felt in my heart.

I had been hunting monsters my whole life, and each one produced a new and interesting challenge, but I knew that this one was different. For one thing, the local village insisted that it wasn’t an evil monster; rather, it was highly misunderstood. I listened to their complaints politely, but I knew the church would still cry for the monster’s death. There was nothing I could do.

But still, the question became more intense as I neared the monster’s home. How can you destroy a monster without becoming one? I had no idea.

When I finally came to the cave, I stepped carefully over the bones of the dead. Hundreds of bodies lay in the entrance; their bones a carpet of white on the cavern floor. I drew my gun and ventured further in, listening for any sign of movement. Entering a large chamber, I saw a small figure huddled in the middle. A single shaft of light surrounded it, and I could tell that it was a small child. She was crying as I approached her.

“Hey, are you lost?”

She looked up at me, and I was startled by her large, black eyes. She was terrified as she spoke.

“Please, you shouldn’t be here. You could get hurt!”

I cautiously smiled as I stood before her.

“So could you. Won’t you come back with me?”

She shook her head.

“I can’t. I’m too dangerous.”

Dangerous? What was this girl talking about?

Looking over her shoulder, I froze as I saw a pair of eyes staring back at me. A large shadow had crept to the edge of the light, and I could now see it’s hands wrapped firmly around the child.

That’s when it dawned on me that she was the monster I had been sent to kill.

How do you destroy a monster without becoming one?

I wasn’t about to kill a child. Instead, I knelt down next to her.

“How can I help you?”

She shook her head. “You can’t.”

“There must be a way.”

She thought a moment. “He was bound to another before he got me. I remember the other one taking me from my village and giving me to him. I don’t remember how it works, though.”

I stepped back and took a long look at the shadow. His hands were firm around the little girl’s shoulders, and he seemed to be smugly looking back at me. Without thinking, I reached over and put my hands on top of the shadows. It was deathly cold, and I shuddered, but I kept them there.

“I offer myself in exchange for the child.”

I felt the shadow rumble as if laughing, and it grabbed my hands and began pulling me into the darkness. The girl let out a soft cry as she fell to the floor, but I couldn’t check on her as the shadow enveloped me. Once inside, I heard it speak.

“You have no idea how long I’ve waited for you. The little girl was useful, but my plans have grown beyond her. I thank you for coming to me willingly; those who struggle often end up dead before I can use them. But you are strong, and we will do many terrible things together.”

I watched the little girl cough and get up from the floor, her now brown eyes bright and clear as she looked at me. My eyes were darkening with the shadow’s power, but I managed one last word before he took me over completely.

“RUN!”

As she ran away, the thought came to me again.

How do you destroy a monster without becoming one?

The answer is: you can’t. But I had saved an innocent child from a life of torment, and, for me, that was enough.

**

That’s my interpretation of the writing prompt! Let me know what you think in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

