Finish-This Friday: The Truth of the Matter

This week’s writing prompts is one I came up with myself. It stemmed from a philosophical discussion that my husband and I had, and I wanted to elaborate on it for creative purposes. So, without further ado, I present your weekly writing prompt:

truthwriting

And here is my response!

 

“Truth, to me, is a relative term. Everything we know about the known universe is based on facts that someone else has provided. Hard science can prove the physical world, but things like history and religion are nothing but our interpretation of what we’ve been taught. So how, then, can we discover the irrefutable truth in a world full of lies and one-sided opinions?

History has to be interpreted because, unless we were there, we have no way of knowing if events happened the way they did. Archaeology and Anthropology have attempted to prove a good portion of historical events, but for the rest of us, it’s still just the interpretation of someone else’s discovery.

And don’t even get me started on religion.

With these things in mind, how can we possibly hope to discover the irrefutable truth in a world full of lies and one-sided opinions?

The truth is, we probably can’t.”

 

How do you propose to find the truth? Let me know in the comments below!

For more writing prompts like this one, check out my board on Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

